Google Glass – Pictures, Video and Teleportation

10 Sep

Screen Shot 2013-09-10 at 17.12.00

Last week I was lucky enough to get my grubby mitts on the one and only Google Glass. While only a basic model I was able to get a feel for the device and see just how this is going to work. So, on I put the glasses (bright orange in this case) to see if I could crack the wonder in the short time I had to enjoy them.

To all that are wondering how the hell they work I will pass along my knowledge. Imagine looking at a TV screen about 5 meters in front of you, well that is basically how is seems. It may sound vague but that is the basics of the thing. Functions such as video and image capturing, maps, settings and teleportation can all be activated using voice recognition. Unlike Siri, which requires a very… clear… slow… voice to pick up, you can actually talk to Google glass in a normal voice and still get the response you expect. In fact we had a mix of accents in the office from Liverpool to Indian and it seemed to have no issues understanding what people are saying.

The pictures that they take are very clear and from a small box in the corner of your eye you won’t be disappointed with the video quality either. The maps are responsive and if you ask it to tell you where the nearest bar is, it will actually give you a good answer. Beyond that? I will have to have another minute with the darn thing.

Stay tuned for part 2 of my Google Glass review where I ask, How can I game with it?

By ThinkBad Monkey

4 Responses to “Google Glass – Pictures, Video and Teleportation”

  1. Leroy September 10, 2013 at 4:57 pm #

    what about a romanian accent?

    • thinkbadmonkey September 10, 2013 at 5:01 pm #

      I’m sure that it would pick that up as well!

  2. Charlton Heston September 11, 2013 at 8:14 am #

    I like Toitles.

Leave a Reply

