PlayStation: Taking a Look Back

25 Feb

Unknown

With the announcement of the PlayStation 4 and the massive excitement that surrounded the launch, I though I should take a look back at some of the games I loved from the older generation consoles. Having moved to the Xbox 360 for the current generation of gaming I have missed out on any great original content that the PS3 has to offer but here is a quick breakdown of the 5 games I loved on the PS1 and PS2.

1. Ratchet and Clank

 images

The Ratchet and Clank series on the PS2 brought a great mix of action packed, fast paced adventure while making me laugh at the same time. Its great gameplay mechanics and unique level design made these game well worth playing. I have often said that I would buy a PS3 just to play the Ratchet and Clank games, and I stick to that. I hope that there are plans to continue this great series into the next generation.

2. Spiro 2

Unknown-3 

From the PS2 we come to the lower resolution but no less fun Spiro 2 on the PS1. This was one of the first games that I played on a console that I could call my own and if sparked a life long love of video games. Spiro has not had the best luck launching on the later generations but he was defiantly at his best in his second installment. Its challenging levels meant that you were always kept interested; I can still hear the soundtrack in my head now! One of the great features that I loved about this game was the way your trusty companion Sparks kept track out your lives. Once you collected a life Sparks would change colour and brightness until he was topped up, equally he would change back if you we damaged. This clever system meant the small side character had a good use beyond the story and made the life meter more engaging.

3. Time Splitters: Future Perfect

 Unknown-2

Even though many of the games I have included on this list have a great story this game has to take the prize. Few game can do time travel justice but Future Perfect pulls it off flawlessly. I remember the first time I saw the a copy of the main character (Cortez) above me in a cut scene and thought that was pretty cool only to find out that that is actually me later on in the game! The game only gets better and better as the story continues, and actively makes you want to play the game again so that you can see all the amazing bits you now know more about. This game also provided my friends and me endless hours of multiplayer fun even before online play became big. Any game that can engage 4 people for so long on the same map has to be worth every penny.

4. Final Fantasy 9

 Unknown-1

I have always been a fan of the Final Fantasy series but it was the games on the PS1 and the PS2 that really took my fancy. The ninth installment in the series holds a special place in my heart for being the first FF game that I played. It has some memorable characters that have really stuck with me over the years and I even named my hamster after Vivi, the black mage.  All of the Final Fantasy games provide new and exciting challenges to gamers making you think about what skills to use and which members of your team to deploy for specific battles. The length of the game meant that you have to invest a lot of time in the game for the payoff at the end but having put the time in, you defiantly feel rewarded when you managed to beat a difficult opponent.

  

5. Jak 2&3

 Unknown

Ok so this is 2 games in one but…. Shut Up! The reason I have these two games is that they are so similar but equally as great. Much like the Ratchet and clank games they have a great mix of unique adventure mechanics and weird and wonderful environments with a few quirky enemies thrown in for good measure. I think the thing that fascinated me with these games was the over arching story which flawlessly spans all three of the original games but I found was executed especially well in 2 and 3. Again messing around with time can be a tricky thing but the moment you realize that small kid is actually Jak from the future, who is actually Marr from the past, which makes you Marr, but now your in the future, so you have to send yourself back to be Marr! Ok so it sounds confusing now but I’m sure other fans of the game will smile when they remember the good times playing this series.

So that’s my round up of 5 of the best games that I played on the PS1 and PS2. Lets hope that the new generation is just as full of great gaming moments and influential story as their predecessors. You have a lot to live up to guys!

If you have any other classics that you want to have a shout about then just let us know and we will see if we cant just give them a spin, for old times sake.

By ThinkBad Monkey 

Leave a Reply

